Fri, 29 May 2020

Xinhua world news summary at 0530 GMT, May 23

Xinhua
23 May 2020, 15:30 GMT+10

ISLAMABAD -- Rescue teams have recovered 97 bodies from the debris of a plane of the Pakistan International Airlines which crashed into a residential area in the southern port city of Karachi on Friday, the Pakistani army said on Saturday.

Rescuers from the army and civil rescue groups have shifted the bodies to hospitals and also recovered two people onboard who survived in the crash, the media wing of the army, the Inter-Services Public Relations, said in a statement. (Pakistan-Plane Crash-Death Toll)

- - - -

TRIPOLI -- The United Nations Support Mission in Libya (UNSMIL) on Friday expressed concern over a number of death sentences issued by military courts in eastern Libya.

"We have been informed of at least 13 death sentences issued by the Benghazi High Court and four by an al-Bayda Court, in potential violation of Libya's international human rights law obligations," the UNSMIL said in a statement. (Libya-UN-Concern)

- - - -

BEIJING -- An earthquake with a magnitude of 5.2 jolted 151km W of Port Hardy, Canada at 2020-05-23 02:14:51 GMT on Saturday (2020-05-23 10:14:51 Beijing Time), the U.S. Geological Survey said.

The epicenter, with a depth of 10.0 km, was initially determined to be at 50.428 degrees north latitude and 129.5094 degrees west longitude. (Canada-Earthquake)

- - - -

KUNDUZ, Afghanistan -- The Afghan security forces have killed Taliban key commander Habibullah Nasiri in the northern Kunduz province, senior police official Shir Mohammad Parsa said on Saturday. (Afghanistan-Taliban)

More Central Asia News

Access More

Sign up for Uzbekistan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!