Sat, 01 Oct 2022

Tourism opens up in EU for Americans, other countries

Robert Besser
21 Jun 2021, 16:43 GMT+10

BRUSSELS, Belgium: In the much-awaited opening following the Covid pandemic, the European Union announced on Friday that its member countries would gradually lift travel restrictions on selected nations, including the United States.

The move will allow travel among the 25 member states. However, members Greece and Spain had earlier permitted entry of U.S. travelers showing proof of vaccination against COVID-19 or negative tests for the virus.

The EU decision, however, allows for each state to maintain their own restrictions, including whether proof of vaccinations or testing is required.

America is a critical source for European travel. In 2019, Americans made some 36 million trips to Europe, according to the European Travel Commons.

Citizens from other countries now allowed to travel to the EU include Albania, Australia, Israel, Japan, Lebanon, New Zealand, Republic of North Macedonia, Rwanda, Serbia, Singapore, South Korea, Thailand and China.

However, the United Kingdom is not on the list, though the EU said restrictions on travel will be reviewed every two weeks.

More Central Asia News

Access More

Sign up for Uzbekistan News

a daily newsletter full of things to discuss over drinks.and the great thing is that it's on the house!